The Hoax (2006)

70052694.jpg               The Hoax              02-5-star.png

NETFLIX SYNOPSIS:  After billing his “authorized autobiography” of eccentric millionaire Howard Hughes as the 20th century’s most important book, writer Clifford Irving (Richard Gere) begins to believe his own hype. But his shameless scam soon catches up with him. Julie Delpy, Marcia Gay Harden, Alfred Molina and Stanley Tucci provide support in Lasse Hallstrom‘s biographical drama that’s chock-full of 1970s hairdos and based on a true story — and that’s no lie.

REVIEW:  I felt really cheated when I found out by the end credits that Clifford Irving wrote the book the film is based on. I never would have seen it if I’d have known that up front. I wanted to do this review because others might feel the same, that he shouldn’t be able to profit.

Even before I knew the story was written by Irving, I was still pretty bored watching the film. The story didn’t flow well and the characters were not at all interesting. I couldn’t pull for any of them. It was hard to decide who was the sleaziest. I certainly didn’t want the publisher or Life Magazine to win – they were creepy opportunists. I didn’t want Howard Hughes to win and I certainly didn’t want Nixon to win. I didn’t like Clifford Irving or his wife, partner or mistress. How ironic that the movie expects us to believe the Nixon-Hughes angle when the author lied about everything else.

*** SPOILERS FOLLOW *** don’t read if you are going to watch the film.

Of course it’s highly probable that Hughes bribed Nixon, as he did other politicians, but that he sent the info to Irving is a little far-fetched. I also think it’s highly unlikely that Irving’s book caused Watergate. The Hoax isn’t just a story about a hoax, it’s a hoax in and of itself.  This time Irving is pulling one off on the public rather than his employer.

2.5 stars
Netflix – 2 stars
Sue K H

Posted on November 6, 2007, in Comedy, Drama and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.