Daily Archives: November 6, 2007

The Hoax (2006)

70052694.jpg               The Hoax              02-5-star.png

NETFLIX SYNOPSIS:  After billing his “authorized autobiography” of eccentric millionaire Howard Hughes as the 20th century’s most important book, writer Clifford Irving (Richard Gere) begins to believe his own hype. But his shameless scam soon catches up with him. Julie Delpy, Marcia Gay Harden, Alfred Molina and Stanley Tucci provide support in Lasse Hallstrom‘s biographical drama that’s chock-full of 1970s hairdos and based on a true story — and that’s no lie.

REVIEW:  I felt really cheated when I found out by the end credits that Clifford Irving wrote the book the film is based on. I never would have seen it if I’d have known that up front. I wanted to do this review because others might feel the same, that he shouldn’t be able to profit.

Even before I knew the story was written by Irving, I was still pretty bored watching the film. The story didn’t flow well and the characters were not at all interesting. I couldn’t pull for any of them. It was hard to decide who was the sleaziest. I certainly didn’t want the publisher or Life Magazine to win – they were creepy opportunists. I didn’t want Howard Hughes to win and I certainly didn’t want Nixon to win. I didn’t like Clifford Irving or his wife, partner or mistress. How ironic that the movie expects us to believe the Nixon-Hughes angle when the author lied about everything else.

*** SPOILERS FOLLOW *** don’t read if you are going to watch the film.

Of course it’s highly probable that Hughes bribed Nixon, as he did other politicians, but that he sent the info to Irving is a little far-fetched. I also think it’s highly unlikely that Irving’s book caused Watergate. The Hoax isn’t just a story about a hoax, it’s a hoax in and of itself.  This time Irving is pulling one off on the public rather than his employer.

2.5 stars
Netflix – 2 stars
Sue K H

Rittenhouse Square (2005)

70062245.jpg             Rittenhouse Square              05-0-star.png

 NETFLIX SYNOPSIS:  Urban parks — sacred patches of green amidst the crazy quilt of city life — have a magic all their own. Robert Downey Sr.‘s documentary about a small Philadelphia square that serves as the city’s cultural and social center puts that magic on full display with a stirring portrait of a city and its residents. Interviews with the park’s habitués combine with a soundtrack that includes live opera, bluegrass, jazz and more.

REVIEW:  I loved this film. If you like people-watching, then I highly recommend this documentary about a little park that exists in Philadelphia. I felt like I was sitting on a park bench watching the various people walk through the park and listening to the great music being played by some very gifted street musicians.

This film shows a year in the life of this park and the emphasis of this film are the people who enjoy the park. My favorite character is one of the main characters a young girl who is a very gifted musician.  She shows up in almost all the scenes sometimes at the center and sometimes just on the fringe.

The narrator talks to quite a few people in the park and we get quite a few different views on the history of the park and how people feel about it today.

Two great characters are two older gentlemen who are local legends and who spent their free time sitting on park benches or strolling through the park, “bird watching” as one man puts it, watching the girls go by.

There is a ball in the park given by a group to help raise money to maintain the park. Also Santa and his helpers visit at Christmas time to help light the big Christmas tree in the park.  It’s not as grand as New York City’s, but still I like it.

Also one of my favorite scenes is an art fair that is held at the park, and the filmmaker does a great musical montage showing various works of art.

This is a wonderful and very sweet film, five very well deserved stars. Please remember this is only my humble opinion.

5 stars
Big A